The Department of English Studies at the University of Cyprus offers one undergraduate degree programme, from which successful students graduate with a BA in English Language and Literature, and a number of  postgraduate degree options. These currently include an MA in TEFL, an MA in Theoretical and Applied Linguistics, an MA in English Literature and Comparative Cultural Studies and, at the doctoral level, PhD research degrees in any field of a supervising faculty member's specialisation.

The Bachelor of Arts degree programme in English Language and Literature (BA in English) is designed on the basis of three different areas of specialization (tracks), which, in general, aim to help students develop the reflective awareness, characteristic of the Humanities, that problems of knowledge and truth cannot be divorced from the textual and historical conditions of their emergence.

To achieve this objective, the programme offers a wide range of courses in each of the three tracks. They include theoretical and applied linguistics, language development, research and teaching methodology, literature, history and culture, literary theory, translation theory, translation methodology, and interpreting. In addition to compulsory courses (incl. foreign-language courses and university-wide electives), students choose from a variety of departmental elective courses — small-class seminars in linguistics and literature — which change from semester to semester.

Students who successfully complete the programme may:

  • pursue a career in teaching, professional translation, public or foreign service, or media and communication;
  • undertake graduate studies in a wide variety of areas, including British, American, or Comparative Literature, Literary Theory, Cultural Studies, Theoretical and Applied Linguistics, Translation Studies, Theatre Studies, or Media and Communication Studies.

English is the language of instruction in all courses, though English and Greek may be used in Translation Studies courses, due to their particular nature. Therefore, a high level of proficiency in English is required for admission to the Programme. All courses are credited in European Credit Transfer System (ECTS) points.

The infrastructure of the Department includes a modern and fully equipped Phonetics Laboratory for research and teaching purposes, an Interpreting Lab for courses in conference interpreting, a Language Teaching and Assessement Lab and a Translation Technology Lab. There is also a room with computing facilities for our students.

Administratively, the Department is divided into three Sections, each of which is responsible for the corresponding area of study:

1) Anglophone Literature & Cultural Studies

2) Theoretical & Applied Linguistics

3) Translation Studies